To the facebook Christians

Okay, so I would like to address a touchy subject. I realize this may cause some issues, which I promise is not my intention! I just want to be honest about something that is on my heart.

We have all seen those Facebook share pictures and statuses. Especially the ones that say “if you do not share this you are denying Jesus and the Bible says, “if you deny Jesus in front of man then Jesus will deny you in front of God.”

It’s not that I don’t enjoy seeing the positive scripture pictures, and even some of the nice messages that might come through a chain status, but here is how I feel about them:

You may notice that I never share those things, and if I do share something like that it is usually an extremely rare occurrence. The reason is simply because I just don’t think God ever intended for our salvation to be determined by what we share on Facebook. I think our salvation should be present through our everyday actions and how we treat others.

When I die, I want people to remember me by how I treated them, was I a good friend? Was I forgiving? Was I non-judgmental? Was I helpful? Or the biggie…. “Was I Christ-like?”

In Mathew 5:13 it says, “You are the salt of the earth.” You see, Christians are salt. Salt makes you thirsty. We need to be asking ourselves do we make anyone thirsty for Christ, the water of life?

I want my salvation to be present throughout my life and seen by how I treat others, and I hope that people can see it without me needing to share a chain status. I do not fear for one minute of denying Jesus in front of others if I choose not to share that status, because I strive to make Him a part of my everyday life.

One day I know I will get to heaven and meet Jesus, and I want to feel as though I am living a life that makes Him proud. Today, I challenge you to strive to make someone thirsty!

12 thoughts on “To the facebook Christians

  1. I totally agree if you….if I do forward, I generally remove the part that says you must forward to 10 people if you love God, or forward if you love God, or if you ignore this you are ignoring God, etc. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks for your response! Those are some of the big parts that I dislike as well. I never really thought about just deleting that part and forwarding though, I think that would be a good idea for those who want to forward something but feel funny about a certain part of it.

      • I have learned to love forward generally speaking because generally they provide a break in the day, and many times the message as actually been a blessing so I wanted to share.

  2. I completely agree. Its almost a manipulative way to get posts shared. “Share this or have your conscience burdened”.

  3. I like what St Francis of Assisi said. “Preach the gospel at all times and when necessary, use words”. I am no longer on Facebook because the Lord laid it it on my heart very strongly to get off. However, when I was on Facebook, I didn’t like the , “repost this if you’re truly a Christian”, either.

  4. I AGREE IN AWAY BUT WHEN I POST SOMETHING ON FACEBOOK I DO TRUELY LIVE THE LIFE OF BEING A CHRISTIAN!!!! I ALWAYS WANT TO LIFT SOMEONE UP AND SHINE THE LIGHT OF JESUS!!! I BELIEVE IN EVERYTHING THAT I POST AND I WANT TO LEAD SOMEONE TO CHRIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GOD BLESS YOU ALL!!!!

  5. Pingback: Social Media and Christianity | Inspire Hope

Leave a Reply

