Authenticity Of The Bible

I want to share something I have learned in my Theology class, which I find to be very interesting. First of all I want to say that as human beings most of us struggle with doubts about the authenticity of the Bible. Is it really what it claims to be, or is it just a mere book? One thing I know for sure is, if any part of it is found to be true, then we had better take the entire book seriously. How can we say that parts of the Bible about God are accurate, but the rest of it is not? I think the worst thing someone could let themselves believe, which is something I hear quite often among Christians, is that, “I believe the Bible is true, and I believe in God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, but I don’t actually think I need to live my life to the standards that it says I should.”

This is quite a popular misconception. Personally, I think it is formed from the idea of “WHAT IF I change the way I live for something that turns out to not be true” and possibly it is formed just from the sheer fear of changing a life style. Even if you believe in something, fear can get in the way of living for God.

I want to share something from my professor at Liberty University, Dr. Elmer Towns. Perhaps you have heard of him, he has written over 100 books about the Bible. First, just so you know a little bit about him and his relationship with God, I want to share something he said during one of my lessons, which I wrote down and saved for this blog.

“I’ve spent my life studying the Bible. You’re talking to a teacher who, I’ve gone through every verse and every word in the New Testament and translated from Greek into English. It’s in my series called, “Praying The New Testament”. I’ve gone through every verse, every Hebrew word of the Old Testament, and translated into English. Praying through the entire Bible, and after I’ve gone through the Word, studied the Word for all my life, I have more confidence. More confidence that this is the Word of God, it fits together. This is NOT a mistake, this is NOT error, this is God’s Word. And I’m gonna live by it, and I want you to live by it. To know God’s word, to live by it, and to say I will stake my life and eternity on God’s Word”.

Dr. Elmer Towns

One of the things I really like about Elmer Towns is that you can tell that his relationship with God is really genuine. He has studied every single word his entire life. He wrote my theology school book, and in the very beginning he says, “My love affair with theology began as a little boy sitting on the swing of the front porch of my mother’s home where I would memorize the Children’s Westminister Catechism.”

Like everyone else I struggle with doubts when it comes to the Bible. Is every word really “God breathed”, is it all accurate? Is it true? Personally, I would rather live for it and in the chance it isn’t true, oh well. What have I lost? But what if I gave into doubt and chose not to believe and then it turned out to be true. Well, it’s too late then, isn’t it?

Personally, I have always felt as if I had a greater purpose in this life than just to live. When I wasn’t living for God, I knew I had to come back around and start living right because there was no fulfillment in a life without God. At least, not for me.

Now I want to share something that has blown all of my Bible fearing doubts out of the water. This is straight out of my Theology text book (written by Dr. Elmer Towns):

The strongest empirical argument that the Bible is the Word of God is based on its demonstrated ability to predict the future. Man does not have knowledge of the future. Only God claims to have that knowledge. Therefore, if one can accurately predict the future, He must be God, and we must accept the truthfulness of his message. Christianity is the only religion that gives fulfilled prophecy as one of its bases for credibility. When the writers of Scripture predict the future and then their predictions are fulfilled, they have credibility for their claims that they speak for God. Note what Wilbur Smith said of fulfilled prophecy:

“”A man who has read several thousand books, concludes that whatever one may think of the authority of the message presented in the book we call the Bible, there is worldwide agreement that in more ways than one it is the most remarkable volume that has ever been produced in these some five thousand years of writing on the part of the human race. Mohammedanism cannot point to any prophecies of the coming of Mohammed uttered hundreds of years before his birth. Neither can the founders of any cult in this country rightly identify any ancient text specifically foretelling their appearance.””

The enemies of Scripture usually do not attack the fact of fulfilled prophesy. They usually try to explain it away. First, they try to make fulfilled prophesy an historical event by moving the date of the prediction forward. They claim the Bible is not the Word of God and that the Bible is a human book. Giving their motives the benefit of the doubt, they are trying to make the Bible consistent in their own eyes, but it would be a deceitful way of writing history. They discredit the Bible. A second attempt to explain away prophesy is to “spiritualize” the prediction and fulfillment. They try to make words mean something other than what the authors originally wrote.

An English deist once said that a man named Jesus Christ read the Old Testament prophecies concerning the Messiah and then went out and attempted to fulfill them. If this man were correct, Jesus Christ was a lunatic for dying to prove predictions that He knew were not true.

Some say that certain Old Testament prophets wrote after the events happened. But the Septuagint and the Dead Sea Scrolls establish a historical date to indicate that these books were written before the events they predicted. The Septuagint was the Greek translation of the Old Testament (c. 285 B.C.) That indicates that Daniel correctly predicted the events of Jesus Christ before they transpired. The Dead Sea Scrolls indicate that the Hebrew text was written and collected before Christ was born.”

____________________________________

I don’t know about you, but it brings comfort to my doubts to know that there is valid truth behind all of the predictions that the Bible made. And if that part is true, how can any of it be false?

<><  Summer

One thought on “Authenticity Of The Bible

  1. Pingback: Where Did God Come From???? « Inspire Hope

Leave a Reply

