Jesus’ Remains Have Been Found! Wait… What???

Today I want to address something that I have seen circulating around the internet. Lately I have been hearing people put down Christianity by claiming that Jesus’ bones have been found. The first person I heard say this, I sort of brushed it off and thought to myself, “where would they hear something like that?” I kind of thought maybe they just made it up. But after hearing it from a few different people, I thought hmmm, and looked into it for myself.

Now if it hasn’t dawned on you yet why finding Jesus’ bones would be a huge defeat over Christians, it would be because as Christians we believe that Jesus rose from the grave and ascended into heaven. But here is the thing, people want so badly to disprove the Bible that when they hear that Jesus’ bones have been discovered they get so excited that they easily believe it without questioning.

Now me, on the other hand, I don’t believe ANYTHING without seeing proof first. I would consider myself an investigative person in that sense, and you can ask my mother if you don’t believe me. She has always gotten irritated with me because when she tells me something I always say, “And exactly HOW do you know that?” And she always gets mad and says, “Why do you always question everything I say!?” It’s not just everything she says, I just question everything, because I seek out the truth. I never like to assume anything is true from hearsay. Unfortunately, not all non-believers have the same attitude. And when they hear that Jesus’ bones have been discovered, they quickly yell, “AHA! You stupid Christians! Where is your Savior NOW?!?!”

I googled “Jesus bones” and several websites came up, both Biblical and un-Biblical. These claims have recently become popular because of a documentary produced by James Cameron (even though it has been around for years). However; I could not find even 1 article that claimed these were without doubt actually the remains of Jesus. All of them admitted faults in these claims. First of all, these bones were discovered back in 1980, but they only recently did a documentary on it (the first thought that comes to my mind, is if they were really Jesus’ bones it would have been BIG news a long time ago). These are the first web sites that came up, if you look at them for yourself, you can see that none of them claim that these are really of Jesus (of the Bible, that is).

http://www.nelsonprice.com/the-bones-of-jesus/

http://www.godandscience.org/apologetics/bones_of_jesus.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lost_Tomb_of_Jesus

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/1543730/Mysterious-bones-of-Jesus-Joseph-and-Mary.html

This is 2 of the Ossuaries (AKA bone boxes) that were taken out of the “Jesus tomb”. Bone boxes hold the bones of the deceased and then are placed in a tomb. Tombs containing multiple boxes are family tombs.

The claim is that this is supposedly a family tomb with 10 ossuaries bearing inscriptions. Some were in ancient Greek and some were in Hebrew. One inscription said “Jesus, son of Joseph”, another said “Mara”, a common form of Mary, and another said “Yose”, a common form of Joseph. Also, there was one with “Yehuda bar Yeshua — possibly Aramaic for “Judah son of Jesus.”

According to Dr. Nelson L Price, “The tomb in suburban Jerusalem in which the ossuaries were found is known as “the Jesus tomb,” the tomb of Jesus’ family. Tombs were very expensive. Where would a simple carpenter an itinerant preacher get enough money to afford such a tomb? Had He owned a tomb, it would have been the only earthly thing He is known to have had.  Had He owned a family tomb, according to Jewish tradition, it would have been in Nazareth not Jerusalem.

Tombs had to be registered with the Jewish authorities of the day. If a personality as public and popular as Jesus had a family tomb, its registration would have been a thing of note. There was no such tomb registered.

Mary the mother of Jesus is also said to have been buried in the same tomb. From the cross Jesus gave John the responsibility of caring for his mother. Creditable records say that in caring for her he eventually buried her in Ephesus-now a part of Turkey. I have visited her tomb there as have millions of tourists.

Yet, the Discovery Channel documentary was based on statistics and a few critics who aspire to discredit Jesus.”

What’s interesting to note also, is that upon DNA testing it was determined that the Mary and Jesus that were found were not biologically related. Therefore, the bones of that Jesus were not that Mary’s son, and it was determined that since they were in a family tomb together, they were probably husband and wife. Which would mean they could be the parents of the one labeled, “Judah son of Jesus.” Last I checked, the Jesus in the Bible didn’t have a son named Judah!

And according to Rich Deem: “Stephen Pfann, a biblical scholar at the University of the Holy Land in Jerusalem, is unsure that the name ”Jesus” on the ossuary was read correctly, since ancient Semitic script is difficult to read. He thinks it’s more likely that the name is ”Hanun.” Bar-Ilan University Prof. Amos Kloner indicated that “Jesus son of Joseph” inscriptions had been found on several other ossuaries over the years. In addition, Kloner indicated, “There is no likelihood that Jesus and his relatives had a family tomb. They were a Galilee family with no ties in Jerusalem. The Talpiot tomb belonged to a middle-class family from the 1st century CE.””

One of the claims that I heard from someone was “How many people with the name Jesus do you really think lived back then?” It was meant as sarcastic, as a way to prove that this MUST be Jesus. Actually, Jesus is only another translation of Joseph, and the names Mary, Joseph and Jesus are some of the most common names in early Palestine.

There were many named Jesus back then, but only one Jesus, son of man. Only one Jesus, son of God. Only one Jesus who died and ascended into heaven!

Anything worthy of one of THESE magazines HAS to be crap. Just sayin!

I could write 10 pages about evidence that disproves this claim, but I shall stop here.

<><  Summer

11 thoughts on “Jesus’ Remains Have Been Found! Wait… What???

  1. Yeah, I’ve been hearing the same things and when I researched it that there were a lot of claims made on view shoddy evidence that didn’t support their claims in the least.

    • Maybe to some, but not in my opinion. For me, faith is believing in something that I cannot necessarily see, but that does not mean there isn’t evidence or proof of it’s existence. I could write an entire blog on this subject alone. But I have written some already that have sort of touched on this subject and you are more than welcome to read them. Look for the titles, “Authenticity of the Bible”, “A Matter Of Choice”, and “Faith”.

      Just because I believe in something that I can’t see with my eyes doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. I can’t see the wind, but I can clearly see the effects of it.

      • I’m pleased you have the proof you need – I don’t ask you to justify it to me. I know some religions require unconditional, unproven faith in their God, your faith is not such, I judged your faith against that – which is like believing there are fairies at the bottom of the garden because somebody told you there were – which is why I pointed out the potential double standard (which it isn’t in your case) – apologies for that.

  2. To call a person a liar when opposed to the truth you must have faith in the word of God and not be a coward.The Holy blood Holy grail pretending that Jesus escaped death on the cross and married Mary Magdalene.Then the Da Vinci code pretending a secret marriage between Jesus and Mary Magdalene and that the real blood of Jesus is inside Mary based on the painting of the last supper by Leonardo Da Vinci.Even thousands have traveled to Louvre to see that painting.Now some persons pretend finding Jesus tomb and bones and have already linked their discoveries to the above fake stories.The truth is that the real Blood of Jesus is on His forehead shown in the real and true story The Coin of The Temple and not in the womb of Mary Magdalene.The blood of the holy grail,da vinci code and the bones of these persons are fake.Be sure of that.

  3. The deception that is coming will not be as blatant as this. A little while ago I had a dream about deception that I’ll post for you to take to the Lord in Prayer and see what He speaks to you on it.

    Deception

    I had a dream on March 29, 2012 of a small group of people going door to door and preaching in the streets to peple.They were not to my knowledge Jehovah’s witnesses or Mormons, remember, the deception was not blatant. The thing I saw that was strange about these people doing the preaching was that their eyes were bigger than normal and they were totally black, they had no whites. I knew in the dream that what they were preaching was deception and I can remember one particular instance in the dream where I saw them preaching to a couple and I tried to intervene but was too late as the couple had listened and accepted what they said as the truth. I watched the couple’s eyes go from normal eyes to the kind of eyes these people had. As I watched, it was like a shade was being drawn over their eyes. These same people came to my house and managed to get in because they somehow had obtained a key. I could not think of how they had obtained a key at the time, but they did. I remember my family and I quoted the word to them and did not listen to the deception that was coming out of their mouths. This is a crucial point here that we did not engage the enemy in a dialogue or resort to human reasoning as that is what Eve did in the garden which eventually led to her rebelling and being deceived by the serpent, we stuck to the Word. This was a good thing that we did not attempt to reason with them because their arguments were very convincing, but totally false. I remember firing a gun but I do not think I pointed it at them, but I do remember firing it. Then the Word of the Lord came to me, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms”.(Eph 6:12 NIV)
    No earthly weapon known to man will defeat them as this is a spiritual battle and it must be fought by spiritual means by donning the full armor of God as is described in Ephesians 6:13-18. Additionally, Revelations 12:11 comes to mind where it says the only way to over come the enemy is by the word of our testimony, the blood of the lamb, and we are not to love our lives even if it means our death. We finally got them to leave our house when they saw that they could not reason with us as we stuck to the Word of the Lord.
    Foundations will be tested here as you need to be founded and grounded in the word because this is a spiritual battle that we are facing and the deception is going to be strong.

    The “key”, that let these people into my house in the first place was pride. This is what the Lord told me. It had really bothered me that these people who spoke deception had gained access to my home in the first place. But when the Lord showed me that pride was the key, it made sense.

    • In my studies we have been learning about the inerrancy of the Bible. Which basically means that it is God breathed and therefore each word being inspired by God is perfect and with out fault. Unfortunately, as humans I think we misinterpret a lot of things and therefore find fault where there is really no fault to be found. Anyway, I have been thinking a lot about how when people start to doubt the authority and perfection of the Bible they start to pick and choose which principles they should live by. There is something called the “slippery slope” argument, which states that anyone who gives up inerrancy will soon give up many of the essential Christian Doctrines. I believe this to be true, because I have witnessed people who start thinking the Bible is flawed. They start picking and choosing which principles they are willing to live by and “ok” it in their mind by saying that some are flawed.

      It reminds me of something I heard someone say in reference to people who criticize the Christian faith, “Make sure that you seek the truth, and not a comfortable lie.” But this phrase applies here also, because many people who do not believe the Bible is inerrant start to pick and choose which verses they believe are accurate, which are always the ones that make them feel comfortable. Sometimes the truth isn’t comfortable, but it is truth.

      It might be true that some people who do not believe that the Bible is completely perfect and God’s word will give up all of the important principles, but I do believe that once we begin to think that some things in the Bible are false that we are leaving ourselves open to start picking until we decide the entire Bible is false. And this does happen to some people. But either way, I believe it is highly dangerous to start picking which principles we believe are inerrant. When we do this we fall into a delusion that we can decide for ourselves which laws we need to live by, and God never intended that for us, nor did He leave that as an option for us.

      I believe this could be the deception you are talking about. It is a popular belief today and affects most of the society we live in. It is a very easy belief to fall into, and sometimes it can happen with out us even realizing it. But if we let it, it can corrupt all of our spirituality. It is important that we not start picking the verses we want to believe in because they are the easy ones to live by. Sometimes truth isn’t easy, but we have to take God at His word, and if the Bible claims to be God’s word, and no fault can be found in that, we have to live as such.

      • How very true. In the dream I shared with you, I spoke the word to those deceiving people and I did not deviate from it. I did not offer my opinion nor did I reason with them, I stuck to the word of God. No where in scripture do we see God giving us permission to reason, in fact, it was reason that caused Eve to be deceived so it is no coincidence therefore that Jesus was crucified on Golgatha which means, “place of the skull”.

  4. One other thing that needs to be looked at is not only is the Bible the infallible, living word of the living God, It is also not subject to any private interpretation . “This first knowing, that every prophecy of scripture by private explanation does not take place. For not by will of man was borne at some time or other prophecy], but by spirit holy being borne spoke the holy of God men”.
    (2Pe 1:20-21 ABP+)

    Paul says to the Corinthian people, “But I exhort you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you all speak the same thing and that there be no divisions among you; but that you be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment”.
    (1Co 1:10 MKJV)

    I like what Smith Wigglesworth said regarding the interpretation of scripture which was, ” some read the bible in Greek, some in Hebrew, I prefer to read it in the Holy Spirit.

  5. Pingback: Crossing The Red Sea (Archaeological Evidence) « Inspire Hope

Leave a Reply

