My Heart Decieved Me!!!

So I’m thinking about a couple of people while I am writing this post, including myself (in the past). I have so many friends who are always being heart broken, haven’t we all been at some point?

Like most people, I used to be one of those who had the belief that it was best to “follow your heart”. Oh yes, how many times have we heard that?  I think we have all heard it and believed it at some point, and most believe it their entire lives. I’m trying to think of the best way to put this…. Do not let your heart deceive you!

So many times we fall in love (sometimes head over heals) and even though every fiber of our being says it’s a horrible idea, we “follow our hearts”, and where does it get us? I think we all know the answer! I want to share some lyrics from a song (by Sanctus Real) that reminds me a lot of this situation:

Heart Meets Brain!!!

Dear Heart, do you belong to me, or do I belong to you?
Just look at all the trouble you drag me into.
I’ve heard it said to follow your heart,
But I’m starting to wonder if it’s gone too far.

Oh Heart, you’ve let me down,
Chasing love where it can’t be found.
Heart, we’ve fallen out,
Cause all of your emotions
Have led me to doubt.

Tell me who’s gonna save us now?

Dear Heart, you’re in the wrong place,
Looking out for yourself no matter what I say.
And I know that you’re holding me back,
And it’s time for a change, so I’m giving you away.

Heart, you’ve let me down,
Chasing love where it can’t be found.
And Heart, we’ve fallen out,
Cause all of your emotions
Have led me to doubt

Only Jesus can save us now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What if instead of “following our hearts”, we started following Jesus instead? Has it ever occurred to you that the little voice inside, telling you that someone is bad for you, could actually be God? What if we prayed about these decisions? What if we actually “take it to the Lord in prayer”? And I don’t just mean relationships, I mean everything.

Now I want to share with you a quote from the movie Fire Proof:

Caleb Holt: What? You were married to someone before Tina?
Michael Simmons: For one whole year. I got married for the wrong reasons, then I turned around and got a divorce for the wrong reasons. Man, I thought I was just following my heart.
Caleb Holt: Michael, I have worked with you for 5 years. You’ve never told me that.
Michael Simmons: Because I’m not proud of it! It was before I gave my life to the Lord. Man, I was only concerned about my rights and my needs. Man, I ruined her life. But when I gave my life to God, I tried to find her but she’d already remarried. So believe me when I tell you I got a big scar. Man, God meant marriage to be for life. That’s why you gotta keep your vows to Catherine. You gotta beg God to teach you to be a good husband. And don’t just follow your heart, man; ’cause your heart can be deceived. You gotta lead your heart.

If I can give everyone out there a word of advice, I would like to say that life isn’t about wondering around on a planet trying to find what pleases us for the moment. First of all, only God knows what can truly make us happy (so stop wasting your time trying to figure it out on your own and just ask!). We each have a purpose, it is time to ask God what your purpose is and start living like you are supposed to! Stop guessing at life and go to the one who made you for the answers. Life isn’t easy, but you can stop guessing and start actually living!

<><  Summer

5 thoughts on “My Heart Decieved Me!!!

  1. Summer I looked at it and is very good and true. My problem is that I have a hard time understanding why my father and my brother was taken from us so young. I have to admit there are days I get very angry at my father and brother and also God.I know I should not feel this way but I do sometimes

Leave a Reply

