My Testimony

So I had to write down my testimony as an essay for my Evangelism 101 class, and I thought I would post it here for you guys to read 🙂

The portions in bold font are the questions I had to answer for the essay. Actually, I would encourage anyone to write down their own answers to these questions. It might help you out in the future with witnessing to someone. The goal is to keep it under a page and a half (double spaced), because when you are witnessing you may not have a lot of time to tell them your story. I had fun thinking about my own answers too.

<><  Summer

My life before I came to Christ: I was aware from a very young age that I was a sinner and in need of a savior, and I thought about it often. I remember walking to the front of church when I was about nine and saying “the prayer” with the Preacher’s wife, and then getting baptized a couple of weeks later. At that point, however, I still felt like something was missing. I knew I needed salvation, but just saying “the prayer” had not sufficed.I felt emotionally frustrated because I understood that I felt empty and in need of something bigger in my life, but I was not sure how to obtain it. I used to cry in frustration and say, “but what will I do?” and “who will I be.” With my soul being lost, my entire life felt lost. I had a sense of knowing there was more, and I just hadn’t found it yet.

How I came to a cognitive knowledge of Who Jesus is and what He did for me: I continued to feel lost until I was 12. I remember being at a church service one evening where I came to a realization that being saved was not merely saying a prayer. It was something that you feel in your heart and mind, and it is a decision that you make to trust in Jesus and follow Him, and a commitment to let Him guide you through the rest of your life. Somehow God touched my heart, and coming to this realization changed everything for me; it seemed to change my outlook on life because I realized that the only thing that really mattered was my need to follow Christ. All of a sudden I knew that I was here for a purpose. I felt relieved, renewed, and motivated to start a journey doing whatever it was that God put me here to do.

Circumstances surrounding your conversion: I had an understanding of what Jesus had done (dying on the cross for my salvation), I knew I was a sinner in need of salvation, and I knew I was supposed to pray and ask for forgiveness and repent from sinning. But I was missing the understanding that it meant actually following Christ and letting Him guide me through life. A big part of the reason I felt so lost, was because I had not allowed myself to be found. I had not asked Jesus to lead me, and therefore I was wandering around feeling lost and empty. When I finally came to Jesus and asked Him to lead me and guide me I felt relieved because I had a purpose and a motivation.

How would you describe your spiritual growth from the time you accepted Christ to today? When I first became truly saved I was on fire for God, and I decided I wanted to be a missionary when I finished school. Unfortunately, I became side tracked through High School; I got married shortly after graduation and then had a baby two years later. I was so consumed with life that I made little room for what God had planned for me. I felt guilty for not continuing to follow Jesus, and it took a while but I finally re-committed my life back to Christ a year ago. I started attending church again and I started taking classes with Liberty University in the spring because I felt that I should have done it a long time ago. I feel better about myself and my relationship with God now than I ever have, and because I know I am living for God I feel complete and happy with life.

2 thoughts on “My Testimony

Leave a Reply

