Where Did God Come From????

I’ve had a lot of theological questions circulating through my brain lately. I’ve heard people criticize “theology” before and say that it is bad because religion is bad, and all that is good is a relationship with God. I agree and disagree. I agree that some people rely only on religion and that a relationship with God is necessary for salvation. However; isn’t theology necessary for a healthy relationship with God? We grow in Christ by asking questions and learning about our creator, the same way we might grow closer to our spouse by learning more about them every day.

Anyway, as I have had all of these questions floating around in my brain, I thought I would share my insightful answers here. I find myself wondering how it is that God could possibly be so perfect. What are the odds that we didn’t just get stuck with an evil creator rather than a good one, anyway? Then there is the question that if something had to create the universe, who created the creator? These are silly questions, but it’s funny how they can spring doubt into someone’s mind.

Here are my insights on these topics:

One thing we have to acknowledge when speaking about the Bible is this: Either we have to accept it as truth, or disregard it as the best lie ever told. There are 2 things that set the Bible apart from every other religious book in the world.

  1. It is the ONLY religious book that teaches the concept of salvation by grace rather than salvation through works or human merit.
  2. It is the ONLY religious book which contains proven fulfilled prophecies.

(read more about the authenticity of the Bible in a previous blog I’ve written here)

I’ve heard people ask the question of who created God in both a genuine and mocking way. We have to acknowledge that if there is a painting, there is a painter. If there is ANYTHING, SOMETHING created or caused it. Even people who believe in evolution or the big bang theory, or whatever theory you can think of, have to acknowledge the issue of where and how did it all initially begin? What CAUSED the bang? Who caused the evolution? Some people think we were started here by aliens… Where did they come from? So we start over again by asking, “Who created God”? Since an effect demands a cause and a cause demands effect, we could go through these questions all day and come back to the same place we started.

Isaiah 29:16:

You turn things upside down,
as if the potter were thought to be like the clay!
Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it,
“You did not make me”?
Can the pot say to the potter,
“You know nothing”?

One thing we know is that any creation cannot be greater than its creator, which means that all of the universe must have a creator which is even greater than that. The Hubble telescope has identified over fifty billion galaxies, each with over two hundred million stars, and yet according to the Bible God knows them all by name:

Psalm 147:4:

He determines the number of the stars
and calls them each by name.

We also know there was no time before God created anything (Genesis 1:1). Time is marked by a sequence of events, and since there were no earthly or human events before God created the world, there was no time in eternity past. Yet before man, before earth, before existence, there was God:

Revelation1:8:

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.”

So here is my insightful thought for today: Perhaps it is not so complicated or unusual that God is perfect, or that He has always existed with no beginning or end. The two go hand in hand. Something would have to be great and with absolute perfection, or all of our existence would not be possible. Perhaps we have to accept the fact that we would not be here if something beyond our understanding did not already exist. Besides, isn’t that what makes God so great?

I’ve also heard it asked, “How can God exist without a creater, yet humans and earth cannot exist without a creator?” Here is why: In order for something to exist without a creator, it would have to exist with no beginning or end. All things earthly are faulty with an end, therefore we know it had a beginning and was created by something ultimately greater than itself.

<><  Summer

Added Conclusion (10/20/2012):

After hearing some feedback from my family it has been pointed out to me that perhaps I did not answer the actual question of “where did God come from?” quite clear enough. So let me restate my answer a little better:

At some point when asking the question of where things came from we have to acknowledge that SOMETHING just always existed. Whether it be the particals that caused the big bang or a god/gods that created the universe. HOWEVER, because we know that something cannot be greater than it’s creater we know that whatever brought the universe into existence had to be of a bigger and greater quality than the universe itself.

Therefore, if God were not almighty, perfect, and infinite in nature all of the universe and our own existence would not be possible.

So when asking the question: “What are the odds that God would not be flawed?” He would have to not be flawed, or else a universe that was created with such procision as our own would not exist!

12 thoughts on “Where Did God Come From????

  1. Nice post and you are not alone with your doubts. Many Christians have doubts. Look at the story of Thomas. He had to see to believe and Jesus was not upset with him about this at all. God has been faithful and proven Himself to me so many times that I don’t let doubts bother me like they used to. Something that always comforted me is that faith by definition cannot exist without doubt. Faith is believing in the unknown and humbling ourselves to greater things beyond our comprehension. Also know that God is never upset with you for asking honest questions. He knows who He is and you having a few doubts does not change His love for you at all! God bless. 🙂

    • Thank you, those are good points. Quite a while back I had someone leave a comment on my post about the “Jesus Tomb” that was a bit mocking. Here was our dialogue:

      Them: “Now me, on the other hand, I don’t believe ANYTHING without seeing proof first.” – isn’t faith belief without proof?

      (he took what I said about not believing just anything out of context. In the actual post I was referring to things I read on the internet but I ignored this fact in my response and acknowledged his question)

      Me: Maybe to some, but not in my opinion. For me, faith is believing in something that I cannot necessarily see, but that does not mean there isn’t evidence or proof of it’s existence. I could write an entire blog on this subject alone. But I have written some already that have sort of touched on this subject and you are more than welcome to read them. Look for the titles, “Authenticity of the Bible”, “A Matter Of Choice”, and “Faith”.

      Just because I believe in something that I can’t see with my eyes doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. I can’t see the wind, but I can clearly see the effects of it.

      Them: I’m pleased you have the proof you need – I don’t ask you to justify it to me. I know some religions require unconditional, unproven faith in their God, your faith is not such, I judged your faith against that – which is like believing there are fairies at the bottom of the garden because somebody told you there were – which is why I pointed out the potential double standard (which it isn’t in your case) – apologies for that.

      I was actually VERY surprised at the last comment, I really expected something more bitter. Anyway, I still stand by this. We struggle with doubts, but I don’t think it is because God has not proven Himself to us or given us everything we need to believe. It is simply because our creater is SO MUCH bigger than we can imagine, that we cannot wrap our brains around it. So we continue to argue with ourselves about the existence of something until it has finally proven itself to us enough times that we can except it for what it is. I’m glad you have reached that point, God has already proven Himself to me many times and I have a lot of questions but I grow everytime I sift through the answers.

  2. There is a third possibility with respect to the Bible. The Bible could simply be man’s word about God; a book that contains wonderful life wisdom but doesn’t have all the answers either. All religions are based on the concept that their believers are the Chosen People (and chosen how?). Chosen because God spoke to them one way or another. Without a direct relationship with God, there is no moral authority for any religion. Thus, they all claim to have talked to God or an angel or the Holy Spirit. Faith is a wonderful thing and I don’t mean to affect yours in any way. Heck, I was almost exactly where you are when I was your age so I think that I can relate to your situation. The best advice that I can give you, based on my own experience, is that if you have an open mind and heart, God will come into your life in a way that you would least expect it.

    • I’m not exactly sure by your response if you used to be a believer and now you are not, or if you still are? Anyway, I agree that all religions claim to have spoken to God or an angel for their authority. But as I stated in the post the Bible is the only one which has fulfilled prophesy and claims to give salvation through grace and not through good deeds. People of all other religions are living by the belief that they have to DO something in order to achieve salvation, where as the Bible says Jesus already did everything that needed to be done (John 3:16) and we only need to believe in that.

      No, the Bible does not have all of the answers, and I agree that we have to accept that some things we will just never know. Though I do believe that upon death we will understand a lot more than we do now. John 21:25 says: “Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.”

      So if there wouldn’t be enough room for the books only written about Jesus, I can imagine there would not be enough paper in the world to supply a book with all of our life’s questions. This is why I believe God only tells us what is necessary. Perhaps the rest is too big for our small minds to comprehend anyway!

      • Very well said. To answer your question, I am a believer – in God. However, because I have a personal relationship with God, I no longer have a need for theology. Suffice it to say, that salvation is not an issue for me(and really shouldn’t be for anyone else either). Like I said, faith is a wonderful thing but don’t mistake it for proof of God, which is not possible in the physical realm. As you said, only by entering that other realm (through death) will you know the Truth.

  3. well just to ease your thoughts possibly… i am a wonderfuly open pagan and ever proud of that. no offence ment to be taken to you. you mention however your doubt and self questions about your faith and god(S). fear not that you are alone in this just know hun i go by this rule for myself and my own faith. religion is 1% names, 2% legend, 3% culture, 4% fact and 90% faith… have faith in your self and in what you belive because without that your just an old bookkeeper. haha. i mean you no offence at all… or any one for that matter. just try to remind your self that in the end there are just some questions that we may never be given the answers to…some times its just not our place to know….after all if we did… where would be our faith in the unknown?

    • Thank you for the kind words. You might also find my responses to the previous comments here about faith, and God not giving us all of the answers, to be interesting. I do think, however, that when it comes to the Bible that more than 4 percent is fact. To date, more than 25,000 archaeological discoveries have varified the names of people, places, events, and customs mentioned in the Bible.
      There are also as many as 332 distinct prophecies from the Old Testament alone which were fulfilled in Jesus (We know this to be fact through the Septuagint and the Dead Sea Scrolls). Astronomer and mathmetician Peter Stoner (in his book “Science Speaks”), gave a mathmatical illustration to show the odds that 1 man could fulfull simply 8 of the prophecies:

      “Take 100,000,000,000,000,000 silver dollars and lay them on the face of Texas (with approximate land area of 262,000 square miles). They will cover all of the state two feet deep. Now mark one of these silver dollars and stir the whole mass thoroughly, all over the state. Blindfold a man and tell him that he can travel as far as he wishes, but he must pick up one silver dollar and say that this is the right one. What chance would he have of getting the right one? Just the same chance that the prophets would have had of writing these eight prophecies and having them all come true in any one man.”

      (I find this little illustration to be quite fascinating!)

      I do agree that there are some things we will never know. Even the angels in heaven are not omniscient (all knowing), so I can imagine that we will never be either. Although I do believe that for now we have been given everything we NEED to know, and when we die there will be much more information given to us.

      I also agree that faith would not be faith if it didn’t include belief in a bit of mystery!

      Thanks for your input! 🙂

  4. I agree. Something’s are not for us to know. That is why it is faith. We live in a world that we must have markers to go by. Time doesn’t matter in Gods world. There is no timeline fore eternity. God said he is the beginning and the end, that is enough for me.

  5. I updated this post this morning after getting some feedback from my family. If your computer saved the original in it’s cookies and you cannot see the update (under the Charlie Brown pic) this is what it says:

    Added Conclusion (10/20/2012):

    After hearing some feedback from my family it has been pointed out to me that perhaps I did not answer the actual question of “where did God come from?” quite clear enough. So let me restate my answer a little better:

    At some point when asking the question of where things came from we have to acknowledge that SOMETHING just always existed. Whether it be the particals that caused the big bang or a god/gods that created the universe. HOWEVER, because we know that something cannot be greater than it’s creater we know that whatever brought the universe into existence had to be of a bigger and greater quality than the universe itself.

    Therefore, if God were not almighty, perfect, and infinite in nature all of the universe and our own existence would not be possible.

    So when asking the question: “What are the odds that God would not be flawed?” He would have to not be flawed, or else a universe that was created with such procision as our own would not exist!

  6. I’d like to sound super spiritual and that I have never doubted nor my faith ever wavered in Jesus, but then I’d be lying. As we walk with God, He shows us more and more that He is good and all that He does is good. Satan is the one who would have us believe that God is not good just as he did Eve. Have I always felt that God was good? Again, if my answer was yes, I’d be lying. There’s been times I’ve abandoned God, to my own hurt, but He never abandoned me. Faith is a journey that we take a step at a time. The more we believe, the more He can do through us. Remember, sin has its roots in unbelief of God’s goodness. Therefore, the more you believe, the less you will sin or be tempted to sin. The more you obey because of believing,the more revelation you receive.

    Remember, when the Jews asked d Jesus what they needed to do in order to do the works of God, Jesus responded by saying that the work that God requires is to believe in the One He has sent. Again, before ascending into heaven, Jesus tells His disciples that he who believes and is baptized will be saved.

    I look at it this way. If all of this is fake and I have believed in a non existent God, what did i loose by obeying the Bible. On the other hand, if I’m right, look at what I’ve gained.

Leave a Reply

