Being Bold

I want to talk about a little subject that I have spent a lot of time thinking about the last couple of days. It has to do with being bold for Christ. Let me first start by explaining myself to those of you who do not know me personally.

Anyone who knows me knows that (especially when I was younger) I could be characterized as a follower (definitely NOT a leader). I was very much a shy, introverted, quiet, tuck your tail and run at the first sign of fire, type of person. I could also call myself a peace keeper. I was always working quite hard at keeping the peace not only between myself and others, but also between others that are around me. Probably mostly because anything other than peace severely stressed me out…

What I want to talk about is the fact that as I have been growing spiritually I have been noticing this trait to slowly fade away and I have been turning into quite the leader. This is something I never knew I had in me before, and it feels strange. It feels like… Wearing a new pair of shoes. Weird.. Almost uncomfortable to the point that you want to take them off but you know that eventually you will get used to them if only you can push past the weird, uncomfortable phase.

Joshua 1:9: “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

It has occurred to me that this can only be the work of the Holy Spirit, simply because being bold is not something I ever even wanted to be. I was quite happy tucking my tail and running. But I have noticed this change inside me. For instance, if I hear or see someone insulting God a little flame inside me rises, in place of the urge to run the other direction.  At first I thought this was a fluke occurrence, but after a couple of weeks of this new found boldness inside me, I have decided that it is probably here to stay. In light of this, some scripture has been brought to my heart which has made me a little more comfortable with this change I have been experiencing. I have been thinking about some of the great leaders of the Bible: Moses, King David, Daniel, Paul, Jesus… The list goes on forever, but one particular story stands out in my mind above the rest.

When Goliath made an attempt to mock God (and His people), David, as a young shepherd boy, dared to go where no one else would go, with very little in his hands:

1 Samuel 17:34-37:

34 But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, 35 I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it and killed it. 36 Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God. 37 The Lord who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.”

Saul said to David, “Go, and the Lord be with you.”

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

2 Timothy 1:8-10

8 So do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord or of me his prisoner. Rather, join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God. 9 He has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, 10 but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel

1 Peter 3:15-16

15 But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, 16 keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander.

Mathew 10:22

22 You will be hated by everyone because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved.

<><  Summer

6 thoughts on “Being Bold

  1. When God led me to recovery from alcoholism and drug use, I didn’t care about anonymity, I would have went on TV and told the world I was a drunk…I just wanted to be free. I want that boldness to witness daily and look for the opportunity, not to push, just to share what Christ has done for me and can do for them. Thanks for the great read!

    • Thank you for the response. I believe that we can pray for the boldness to be all that God wants us to be, and we SHOULD be praying for that. We can pray for the Holy Spirit to make us new, and He will make us new. We can and will be leaders to fulfill the Great Commission, if only we ask for God to lead us!

  2. Summer, you sound like you had an encounter with the Holy Spirit. You, like the apostles before you, were not a confrontational person. The Apostles were hiding from the Jews up until the day of Pentecost when all “heaven” broke loose and these cowardly apostles were now endued with the the Spirit of the Lion of the Tribe of Judah, as are you. Keep roaring!!!

Leave a Reply

