If We’ve Ever Needed You (Sandy Hook Prayers)

I sit here speechless, searching for words about the events that have unfolded before us today. As a mother of a child who is in kindergarten this year, I can only imagine what 20 children’s parents are going through today, and will be going through for the rest of their lives while trying to pick up the pieces.

I pray for peace and healing for these families. I’ve noticed that this is something that so many are saying today all around the country. I see it posted all over the internet, and it seems that suddenly even news anchors and the President himself are not worried about offending anyone by these words. What a shame it is that it takes such a tragic event to bring prayer back into our nation!

What a shame it is that we forget about God until something such as this happens. What a shame that it takes something of this magnitude to bring this country to its knees.

But never-the-less, we are on our knees.

 

834_10151950651530288_138385637_n

 

A song by Casting Crowns has just popped into my mind… It’s so fitting for this occasion:

Hear our cry, Lord, we pray
Our faces down, our hands are raised
You called us out, we turned away
We’ve turned away

With shipwrecked faith the idols rise
We do what is right in our own eyes
Our children now will pay the price
We need Your light, Lord, shine Your light

If we’ve ever needed You
Lord, it’s now, Lord, it’s now
We are desperate for Your hand
We’re reaching out, we’re reaching out

All our hearts, all our strength
With all our minds, we’re at Your feet
May Your kingdom come in our hearts and lives
Let Your church arise, let Your church arise

If we’ve ever needed You

Lord, it’s now, Lord, it’s now
We are desperate for Your hand
We’re reaching out, we’re reaching out
We’re reaching out

If we’ve ever needed You
Lord, it’s now, Lord, it’s now
We are desperate for Your hand
We’re reaching out, we’re reaching out

If we’ve ever needed You
Lord, it’s now, Lord, it’s now
We are desperate for Your hand
We’re reaching out, reaching out
We need You now

Revive us now
We need You now

Listen to this song here (if you’ve never heard it I encourage you to listen to it at least once).

<><   Summer

8 thoughts on “If We’ve Ever Needed You (Sandy Hook Prayers)

  1. I don’t think any of us can imagine sending his/her child to scool only to find out that some deranged person took their life and they will never see their child again. Families that were preparing for Christmas are now preparing for funerals. I can’t imagine the grief that these families are experiencing.
    I look my grandsons and I can’t imagine receiving the news that I’ll never seem them on this earth again. They’ll all be in my prayers. May the God of all comfort be with these families during this time of sorrow.

    • This is certainly a terrible thing and I know so many people’s hearts are heavy with this news. I keep thinking now about how much I don’t want to send my daughter to school on Monday. I just want her to stay home with me forever! But I know that is not really the answer…. And grandsons??? For some reason I had you pictured as a young (mid 20s-lower 30s) bachelor lol.

    • Not disappointed, just surprised. It’s funny when you are talking with people over the internet, because sometimes you try to put a face to a personality and find out you were completely wrong. If I didn’t have my picture up, I imagine I probably sound like a little old woman with cats sometimes lol.

Leave a Reply

