Living Water

What would I say to the un-believer? There is nothing I can say or do to force someone to believe in the God I believe in. I understand that every person has to discover God on their own terms. Perhaps you think people who believe in God are loony, fools, idiots, judgmental, bigots… The list could go on and on. But perhaps you are none of these things. Perhaps you believe there is a God, yet you still feel lost.

Let me paint a mental picture for you. There is someone somewhere right now who is hurting. Perhaps they have been heart broken by love or death. They have been let down by someone. They cry, they’re angry, trying to do the “right thing”, whatever that is in a world where everyone and everything else seems to be doing the wrong thing.

Everything in this life is confusing. What will I do with my life? How will I survive day to day? How can I possibly get out of bed tomorrow? Sometimes you are in so much pain you cannot even live with yourself. And I’m not talking about physical pain, I’m talking about depression. Only someone who has suffered from it would know the weight it carries.

I’ve been there, and known so many others who have. I spent a lot of days wondering if God would save me from my problems; my marriage, my divorce, being a single parent. Sometimes just living felt unbearable. I knew there was a God, and I hoped He would save me. But there was a problem with that fantasy. I didn’t realize that God had already saved me on a cross.

Those who know me might say, “Now Summer that isn’t true! You were “saved” many years before your struggles and even baptized!”

But there’s a difference between mentally “knowing” that God sent His Son to save us on a cross and actually depending on that. It’s like water… We know we need it to survive, and we drink it daily. But let’s say you were stranded in a dessert for so long that you finally thought you were just about to thirst to death when you came across an oasis. That sip of water is your saving grace because you know in that moment you would have died without it.

imagesCA7QI26Y

Sometimes when we are at our lowest point in life we find Jesus, and He is the living water. I believe in God because He saved me on a cross. But He also saved me from all of the other aches and pains of this world. I always knew the water was there, but I never relied on it or appreciated it like I should have.

Someone told me once that they have to go through life’s struggles anyway, they figure they’d rather go through them with God. I’ve come to understand how true that is!

When I finally put all of my trust in Jesus, it was like my whole world turned upside down for the better. It’s like the Claritin commercial where everything is fuzzy, and then suddenly it all gets brighter and clearer. Everything in life was so fuzzy, confusing, stressful, and then suddenly I see everything clearly. I don’t look at anything like I used too.

John 4:10-14
10 Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.”
11 “Sir,” the woman said, “you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get this living water? 12 Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did also his sons and his livestock?”
13 Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

<>< Summer

One thought on “Living Water

Leave a Reply

