Social Media and Christianity

Quite a while back I made a post titled “To the Facebook Christians”, stating my view on chain statuses and photos. This post is somewhat a part 2 of that post. This morning, after looking over my news feed on Facebook, I am left feeling quite disheartened. I am disheartened by how distorted the Christian’s of today seem to have become, especially when it comes to social media. I think social media can be used as a good thing, but I also think it can be used poorly. I guess I just want to share an example of poor use of social media:

580241_550391371659708_1168085936_n

When I look at this picture I see a heartbreaking situation, like everyone else. I see that there is this child who obviously needs prayers. But is this really the right way? I truly hope that no one really thinks that “1 like = 1 prayer” and “1 share = 100 prayers”. As a Christian, if we see a heartbreaking situation, we should be getting on our knees! I hope no one actually clicks “like” and feels like they did their good deed for the day… I am not trying to judge anyone, but these types of photos truly scare me! It scares me to think that we, as Christians, have become so desensitized to the true meaning of prayer, that we feel as though actually getting on our knees is too hard, or it’s just easier to click “like”. I hate to break it to anyone who doesn’t already know, but 1 like really does not equal 1 prayer! Please, please, break down the wall of communication between yourself and God, and actually say a prayer!

Okay, I have said my peace on that situation. But I want to move onto the second thing which has disturbed me this morning in the realm of social media networking. As I was scrolling through my news feed, I came across a link to an article about a recent announcement that Kirk Cameron will be working on a project with Liberty University on a movie project. In the comments section, the most liked and responded to comment was highlighted, which reads:

“Kirk Cameron and the folks at Liberty University desperately need to learn that Christians don’t believe in the Bible or follow the Bible. We believe in and follow Jesus Christ and measure everything — included all the words in the Bible — against the prime directives he taught: “Love neighbor, love enemy and treat others the same way you want to be treated.””

The comment itself is not as disturbing to me as the number of people who agree with it. Apparently, a lot of people feel this way. So I would deduce then, that a lot of “Christians”, feel as though they live more by Jesus’ instruction than the Bibles. Do they then not understand the following words?

John 1:14

14 The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

images

My hope is that anyone who calls themselves Christian, truly studies the Bible and the meaning behind the word “Christian”. Know what you are claiming to be! I have written about this subject in previous blogs titled “So You Call Yourself a Christian”. Lately I have been studying in school the importance of knowing what you believe and why you believe it. I had to write a short 2 paragraph paper about this topic, and I thought I would share it here:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It is impossible for a Christian who is unable to answer questions about his or her own faith to be a good witness. God has commanded us to become knowledgeable enough about our faith to be able to provide answers to our peers (1 Peter 3:15) and to go forth and make disciples of all nations (Mathew 28:19). How can we do either of these things if we do not have knowledge about our own faith? We must be able to communicate our faith with others effectively to obey these commands by God.

I believe the Bible is God’s word, and therefore that God created the heavens and the earth, and that His son Jesus Christ (who is fully man, yet fully God) came to earth and died for the sins of man-kind. Although many people say that God does not exist, I believe that we can experience His existence spiritually through the presence of the Holy Spirit and through miraculous events, and that I have experienced it in my life. But I also believe that physical evidence can be found by looking at many different things, including history, scientific evidence and fulfilled prophesy.

<>< Summer

5 thoughts on “Social Media and Christianity

  1. I felt this same way about the sandy hook school shooting. So many people were copy and pasting a so called prayer for sandy hook, I made mention that I hoped those people were actually closing their eyes and having a conversation with God rather than just “copying and pasting” some text.

  2. Summer, how else would deception be able to creep into the body of Christ? If people were grounded in the Word, then they wouldn’t fall for such nonsense. Also, Jesus was 100% God and 100% man. All the fulness of the Godhead dwelt in Him when He walked the earth.

    • That’s a good point that deception starts because people do not study the word. It’s so unfortunate that most “Christians” do not even know what it really means to be a Christian! I think one of the biggest things that makes Christianity look bad to the outsider is when the average non-believer views Christianity as a religion in which its own participants do not even want to participate.

Leave a Reply

