I Can’t Believe What She Said!

Hello everyone! Truth is, it’s been quite a long time since I’ve written here. For a very long time I wrote just about every day, and then I guess I dropped off the face of the earth. I think it’s finally time for me to open up about what’s been going on in the last year for me, and explain why I haven’t been around here in blogo-sphere.

It all started nearly a year ago. If any of you remember me at all anymore, you will remember that I was attending school to one day be involved in ministry, and that I was bouncing from church to church looking for the right one that I just hadn’t seemed to find yet. The thing is, I thought I finally found it, and long story short some things happened that left me feeling scorned. It’s an awful thing to be left feeling scorned by a church, and to top it off I ended up getting involved with another church that has left me feeling even more scorned than the first one.

I think if you were to ask most people why they don’t attend church or believe in God they would mostly all give you the same answer: They’re tired of being treated bad by people who call themselves Christians.

Image

This is why it is SO important that as Christians we hold ourselves to a high standard. No, none of us are perfect (I sure as heck know I’m not), but by-golly we are giving ourselves a name that is. Christian means Christ-like, so to go by the name “Christian”, and then act in a way that Christ would never act, causes people who are watching us to lose faith in us, but most importantly in God. Yes, we have the power to turn someone away from God by our actions.

But I want to say something to those of you who feel like you have been scorned by a church or a spiritual leader, if there is one thing I’ve learned over the last year it’s that we should never put our faith in any one person. We should always put all faith in God! Never let the poor actions of anyone put a wedge between you and God.

How dare any one of us to allow a simple person keep us away from God! Jesus came all the way to earth to be born in a stable, lived a perfect life of sorrow, and died a death of pain and torture just to be with you, and if you allow the actions of an imperfect human being to deny you of a relationship with the One who truly loves you, shame on you.

I feel like I have the right to say that because I have been scorned on several occasions over the last year, and I have on several occasions suffered with the thoughts of wanting to throw in the towel. What I’ve concluded at the end of it all is that God is so much bigger than our problems! Something I heard Clayton King say that I completely agree with is this: Jesus Christ doesn’t have any security issues. Let’s face it, someone who has been tortured, died on a cross, and risen from the dead doesn’t have too much to be worried about. If someone were to threaten Jesus and say, “quit spreading around the gospel like that or we’re gonna….” Jesus would be like “or you’re gonna do what?”…..

Dude, it’s already been done! Jesus has already fought the fight and won. What you have to understand is that we as Christians have Jesus with us at all times, so what are you afraid of? The power that rose from the grave is inside you! We can go round and round worrying about what she said, or he did. Believe me, I know because I’ve been doing it seems like constantly for almost a year now. But at the end of the day, none of it matters. The only thing that matters is this:

Where are you going to spend eternity? Have you chosen to let all of the disappointments and fears you have about people or church keep you from God? Quit worrying about those things and choose to follow the One who made you, the One who died and conquered the grave!

And by the way, just to clear up how I feel about church. Yes, I have been scorned. But I know God wants me in church, and I believe He wants all of His followers in church. So I will continue to look until I find one that I can fit into. To be honest, all I really want is to be a part of something that is worth being a part of. I want to be a part of a place that gives praise to God while evangelizing the lost and maturing the saved!

Hebrews 10:25 
Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

1 Thessalonians 5:11 
Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing

1 Peter 4:10 
Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms

(you already know that we are supposed to be Christ-like, so consider this: Jesus went to church!)

Luke 4:16

“He went to Nazareth, where he had been brought up, and on the Sabbath day he went into the synagogue, as was his custom.”

The Bible is also clear that the church is meant to be the bride of Christ. In other words, Christ loves the church. You know, Jesus might not always be happy with how His church is acting, but like a husband should have unconditional love for his wife, Jesus will always love the church. Sometimes I think it would be better if we just shook off the hard feelings we have and quit worrying about church long enough to just be the church.

Image

<><  Summer

3 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe What She Said!

Leave a Reply

