Step 1 Of A Successful Ministry

Today I want to talk about something that has really been on my heart lately. I feel like a light bulb has went off, like God has spoken something to me and I can’t help but wonder why I didn’t see it before.

I think people have this misconception that only talented, intelligent, wealthy, or otherwise extraordinary people can effectively lead others to Christ. What I want to show you is that how talented, intelligent, wealthy, or otherwise extraordinary you are has nothing to do with how well you can potentially lead people to Christ. Let me give you an example: When Peter and John went before the Sanhedrin shortly after Jesus’ death they boldly healed the sick and preached the gospel despite the dangers of being persecuted and put to death, and the Sanhedrin made an observation:

ImageActs 4:13 says:

“When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.”

So you see, effective ministry has nothing to do with what you are good at, and everything to do with one thing. And that one thing is your relationship with Jesus. Real ministry FOR Jesus starts with a healthy love and relationship WITH Jesus. If you don’t have that, it doesn’t matter how talented or intelligent you are, your ministry will be nothing. I know those words might sting, because they stung me the first time I heard them myself. I’ve always felt like my relationship with Jesus could be better, but like everyone else I never seem to get around to working on it. Somehow it never occurred to me that a true ministry really has to start with a true love for Christ. And by that I mean that your love for others has to start with your love for Christ also.

1 John 10-11 says:

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.”

And verse 19 says:

“We love because he first loved us.”

We can only love one another because Jesus first loved us enough to die for us. Without loving Jesus first, we can’t even begin to love someone else enough to effectively minister to them.

By the way, please do not be intimidated by my use of the word “ministry”, ministry comes in many shapes and sizes and God calls all of His children to participate in the Great Commission (the leading of others to Christ) in some shape or form.

Last April my sister and I started a youth group, which has now turned into Cross Eyed Ministries.

Image

Our goal is to have an outreach program that really reaches the youth in our area, and later down the road we are considering some ways to reach the deaf community in our area as well. We want this ministry to succeed and be everything that it can be. I realize now that the only way that is ever going to happen, is if we both ensure that we are continuing in our relationship with Christ on a daily basis. I want to share with you a quote that I found:

“We actually slander and dishonor God by our very eagerness to serve Him without knowing Him.” – Oswald Chambers

Ouch, that really does sting, but it’s certainly food for thought!  I’m also adding a song here that you are free to listen too, I think it speaks a lot of truth about this subject.

 

<><  Summer

6 thoughts on “Step 1 Of A Successful Ministry

  1. Amen! God uses the ordinary and does extraordinary things in and through them to bring glory to His name. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else!

  2. I really love this one..God chose ordinary people but they become extraordinary people in His hands. What a timely. .I am on writing an article related with yours. Later I link it to my post. If you don’t mind. Blessings.
    Karina

Leave a Reply

