Actions Speak Louder Than Words

There’s a saying that I firmly believe in and that is “actions speak louder than words”. I found out a month ago that my husband cheated on me. I was devastated, but he swore he loved me and that he would never do it again. So I decided to give him another chance… A week later, alas, I discovered some suspicious text messages on his phone and upon confrontation I found that he did it again! I was again, devastated. This time even more so than the last… I mean the first time was one thing but he begged for forgiveness promising he wouldn’t do it again and then I was fooled! Fool me once shame on you, but fool me twice shame on me, right?! We have a child and I’m struggling to keep our family together so despite my feelings I told him he had one more chance. But last night I caught him red handed, yet again…. This is where I say actions speaker louder than words. I mean if he really loved me he wouldn’t be treating me this way, right?!?!Image

Those who know me personally are probably sitting with their jaws on the floor right now, so I want to go ahead and say that the above is not actually true. But I DID get your attention, didn’t I?

The reason I started this post out the way I did  is because I want those who are reading this to really get the point of this post. Which if you haven’t caught on by now, it’s that ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS. There are so many people who feel they can live how they want and ask for forgiveness with God and everything is kosher, and there are also people who think that because God is such a loving God that living for Him is completely irrelevant because He would never actually send anyone to hell. If you believe these things, I just want to tell you that they are very contradictory to what the Bible says.

God desires our love, and He wants a relationship with us. He desires for you to be dedicated to Him, the same way you desire the dedication of your spouse. So with that said, I ask you, how effective is it really if we ask God for our forgiveness and then go about our lives as though nothing has changed? It is exactly as effective as if my husband really did what I said he did in the first paragraph of this post. There is a story that I like to tell the youth to make this point and it goes like this:

Image

“The Crocodile Story”

“There once was a boy who wanted to go fishing at the lake, but his dad told him to stay away from the lake because there was a huge crocodile that would gobble him up if he went out there. The boy didn’t listen, and he went anyway. He managed to sneak away while he thought his father wasn’t looking, got into a boat and floated off shore.

Suddenly, he saw a huge crocodile swimming around the boat. Just as the crocodile was about to eat the boy, his father dove in and distracted the crocodile long enough for the boy to make it back to land. Unfortunately, his father was eaten and died……

The next day, the boy went out into the lake again.”

Usually, the kids are taken by surprise at the last line and either display a look of shock or give a laugh.

The moral of the story is that if we truly understand that Jesus made the ultimate sacrifice to save us from our sins, and then continue to knowingly live in sin, we are doing the exact same thing as the boy, and we are showing a true lack of appreciation for what Jesus did for us.

We cannot earn our way to heaven, and we cannot be good enough or perfect enough to earn God’s love. But if we truly believe in the sacrifice Jesus made, then to live in sin is to do the same thing as the boy in the boat.

James 2:14-19

“14What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? 15 Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. 16 If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? 17 In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

18 But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”

Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds. 19 You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”

God knows I am far from perfect. I fail an unfailing God everyday! But I understand how I leave God heart broken like a betrayed spouse every time I do it.

<>< Summer

3 thoughts on “Actions Speak Louder Than Words

    • Hey Tony! I’ve been teaching youth at our church for a couple of years now and I’ve found that it’s hard for me to balance that and the blog at the same time. I don’t know why but it feels like I only have room for one or the other. BUT, I’m going to try really hard this year to make more time for writing/blogging. It’s still something I love to do I’ve just not had as much time for it is all. I hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

