Who Are You Sold Out To?

Colossians 3:17

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

The Bible says every little thing we do should be done for the Lord. This includes everything. The way we speak, eat, dress, act, and let us not forget the things we put into our bodies such as music and television.

1 Peter 5:8

“Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.”

The enemy “prowls around” looking to devour Christians. This means that if we do not guard our hearts and minds we could easily be our own destruction. If you live somewhere in the mountains like I do and you’ve ever been out hiking with friends you’ve probably heard something like this said before: “If we run into a bear I know I don’t have to be the fastest in our group, I just don’t want to be the slowest!” At which point I myself start to worry :/

bear 2

Animals that hunt for prey generally pick out the weak links of a group. Lions, for instance, usually look for the slowest, the one that’s furthest from their pack, one that’s sickly, or even a female that is pregnant and in labor.

My point here is that our enemy will search out the Christians who make themselves easy targets. How do we make ourselves easy targets? Well for one, by not doing everything we do for the Lord.

lecrae

In short, if an antelope is out in a field with a bunch of other antelope and it’s not being the best antelope it can be, using all of its God given instincts to survive with the rest of the pack, then it’s a target. Therefore, if we (as Christians) are going out into the world and not doing everything that God has commanded us to do, we are making ourselves a target.

The biggest way Satan destroys us is through temptation. When we’re not living completely sold out to Christ it’s easy to fall into Satan’s little lies and temptations that eventually ruin us. I remember when my husband and I first started dating and my parents frequently made the comment that I had “blinders” on. Meaning that all I saw was him. I was infatuated and I lived as if nothing in this world existed or mattered except for him.

What if we Christians were like that for Jesus? What if we put spiritual blinders on and we lived as if He were the only thing in this world that matters. After all, isn’t that what He did for us when He laid His life down on the cross?

crazy

<>< Summer

2 thoughts on “Who Are You Sold Out To?

Leave a Reply

